Music Worth Hearing

DIRTYMIX 005 – Nheap


Each week, one of our invited guest producers and dj’s will create an exclusive one hour continuous mix, giving them the chance to break genre barriers, and giving you an opportunity to explore a unique soundtrack.

This week, Italian producer “Nheap” showcases a selection of ambient electronic.

01. Nheap – Photoperiodism (00:00)
02. Nheap – Eupnea (04:02)
03. Nheap – VLBI (09:49)
04. Nheap – Electric 80s Sea (from “Realight”) (14:02)
05. Nheap – 1997 OST (19:25)
06. Nheap – Improv 2 (23:33)
07. Nheap – Over The Rainbow (26:16)
08. Nheap – Katharsis (from “Realight”) (28:38)
09. Nheap – Kinesthesia 7 (33:01)
10. Nheap – Arctica (36:31)
11. Nheap – O.O.B.E. (from “Realight”) (40:59)

Massimo Discepoli, aka Nheap, is a musician and producer from Perugia, Italy. Nheap’s music can generically be defined “electronic”, but actually it is influenced from nearly every musical genre, jazz to ambient, classical to contemporary, and obviously every kind of electronic music. Nheap’s main influences are Aphex Twin, Squarepusher, Miles Davis, Bach (and many many others).

He started playing drums in 1990, exploring every musical genre over the years, particularly jazz and funk (for example on the Vibrham CD by the homonymous trio, recorded in 2006 and internationally distributed).

In 2005 he started playing piano, and at the same time began producing his own music. The first album “Realight”, was released in 2008 by the Musicaoltranza netlabel, and it was favorably reviewed by the press. Some other tracks were included in various compilations.

Nheap’s second full length release, ‘skymotion’ is features 10 tracks, ranging from jazz to electronic and ambient to avantgarde; the drums were played live. The album is available for free download at until October 30th 2009; then it will be available on iTunes and others online vendors, and also on and

Nheap is aiming to reach an ever tighter integration between electronic music and music played with real instruments, at the same time not excluding totally electronics or acoustics compositions.

Official Website: